Dr. Maria-Pau Ginebra, ICREA Acadèmia Researcher 2023

Apr 02, 2024

Generalitat of Catalunya recognizes, once again, the research excellence of Maria-Pau Ginebra, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and director of the Biomaterials, Biomechanics and Tissue Engineering Research Group of the UPC, for the fourth consecutive time, with an ICREA Academy distinction in the area of technology and engineering.

Professor Maria-Pau Ginebra has been recognised by, for the fourth time, as an ICREA Acadèmia Fellow by Generalitat de Catalunya in 2023 edition. 

ICREA Acadèmia distinguishes the work of the most active researchers, in order to increase their research . These distinctions are aimed exclusively at university teaching staff that conduct research at the university and, especially, the one that is in a fully active phase in the expansion of its research activity.

The research area of Maria-Pau Ginebra, Professor of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the School of Industrial Engineering of Barcelona Est (EEBE), is the design of new biomaterials for regenerative medicine and the controlled release of drugs, especially in the field of bone regeneration.

This is the fourth time that Dr. Ginebra receives this award, having been one of the winners in the 1st Edition of these awards. In that edition, in 2008, a total of  40 professors from Catalan public universities received the prize to fund their research, considered as leading in their respective fields. The first 40 winners, among them the Director of BBT, Maria-Pau Ginebra, were elected by an international committee that valued their publications in recent years, the innovative nature of their work and other common merits in competitions scientists In the second edition, there were 29 winners; in the third edition, there were a total of 45; and in the current 2023 edition, a total of 40 academics have been awarded.

This year, Dr. Ginebra has been joined in the distinction by two more professors from UPC, researchers Eduard Alarcon and Albert de la Fuente.